Meningitis Requirement

IMPORTANT: All students who are enrolled in any courses that require in-person class meetings or other in-person requirements such as testing, faculty meetings, tutoring, computer lab access, or any other on-campus activities must be in compliance with the meningitis immunization requirement prior to the first class meeting.  

Texas law requires all incoming Texas college students to get a vaccination or booster against bacterial meningitis, or provide an approved medical or conscientious exemption that meets the state’s required documentation requirements. View compliance deadlines.

The law applies to you if you are:

  • Under 22 years old, AND
  • Enrolling for the first time as a credit student, OR
  • Returning after a break in enrollment of one semester or more, OR
  • Transferring to ACC from another college or university, OR
  • A Continuing Education student who is enrolled in integrated credit classes. (Check with CE for instructions.)

You are automatically exempt if you are:

  • 22 years or older by the first day of the semester, OR
  • A dual-credit or Early College High School student, OR
  • Taking Continuing Education classes that are NOT integrated with credit classes and have fewer than 360 contact hours.

Meningitis Compliance Steps

Meningitis Vaccine Providers

The following list is provided as a convenience to students seeking a meningitis vaccination. It is not intended to endorse any of the providers.

Retail Clinics

Vaccine cost and availability varies. Call ahead for pricing and appointments.

Health Departments

Uninsured students may contact the health department about low-cost vaccines.

Back to Top
  • Join Our Virtual Admissions and Enrollment Office

    You can join us on Zoom anytime Monday - Thursday from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. and on Fridays from 9 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. to get answers to your questions! No appointments needed.

  • Back to Top